Effective April 10, 2013, non-profit entities may
not operate a game promotion.
For more information click here.
The Solicitation of Contributions Act requires anyone who solicits donations from people in the state of Florida to register with the Department and renew annually. This applies to charitable organizations, sponsors, professional solicitors, as well as professional fundraising consultants. The Department collects registration fees and has authority to impose penalties for non-compliance. The Department provides financial disclosure regarding organizations on the online Gift Givers' Guide or you can obtain information about a specific charity by calling our Consumer Assistance Call Center at 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352), or out of state 850-410-3800.
- Registration for Charitable Organizations
- Registration for Professional Solicitors
- Registration for Professional Fundraising Consultants
Professional Solicitors Financial Report of Campaign - The Department is now mailing a preprinted Financial Report of Campaign (FROC) form to better assist with the processing of your paperwork. This preprinted form replaces all previous versions. For a FROC due on the anniversary date of a multi-year campaign, the form will be mailed 30 days prior to the anniversary date. For a FROC due at the end of a campaign, the form will be mailed on the end date of the campaign. If you have not received your preprinted FROC form, please contact the Department at 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352). You will need to provide the name and registration number of the professional solicitor as well as the name and registration number for the charitable organization for the campaign you are calling about.
- Chapter 496, Florida Statutes (F.S.)
- Chapter 5J-7, Florida Administrative Code
On the FAC site, please select "latest version" to view the rules
Frequently Asked Questions
If the registration applicant does not know the answer to a question on the application form, may it be left blank?
No. When an organization is registering for the first time with the Department, law requires that all questions on the registration application be answered. Leaving a question blank will delay the registration process until all questions are answered.
Yes, No, or None are acceptable answers to some questions on the registration application.
What if I did not receive any money in the preceding year?
What is reported to the IRS is to be reported with your renewal. This information is available to the public through the Gift Givers Guide as required by law. If zeros are submitted on the Statement of Support/Revenue and Expense, zeros will appear in the Gift Givers Guide.
What if our financials are not yet completed but our license is about to expire? May we wait until these are prepared?
No. If your IRS 990 is not ready, complete and submit the Statement of Support/Revenue included with your application. When the IRS 990 is ready, send it to update your file. The Department does not recognize IRS extensions at this time. OR You can fax, email, or mail a request for a 60 day extension on or before your expiration date. If an extension is requested prior to your expiration date and your renewal is submitted by the new extension date, late fees will not be assessed.
How much is the late fee for a licensed organization submitting a late renewal application?
The late filing fee shall be $25 for each month or part of a month after the date on which the annual renewal statement and financial report were due to be filed with the Department.
Does grant money need to be reported?
Yes, it needs to be reported on the financial form with proper documentation however government grants are not included when calculating the registration fee.
How much is my registration fee?
Fees are based on the immediate preceding year’s financial report submitted by the organization. Newly formed organizations with NO PREVIOUS financial history must file a proposed budget. The Statement of Support/Revenue and Expenses included in the application can be used to submit a budget.
May I use the form from the website to renew our registration?
No. A preprinted renewal application will be mailed approximately 60 days in advance of your expiration date. If you did not receive the renewal application, you may call the Department at 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352) calling from Florida, 850-410-3800 calling from outside of Florida, or you can email your request to email@example.com and have your renewal application emailed or mailed to you.
Do we have to sign the application?
Yes. Your initial registration must include a signed affidavit. Additionally, the renewal form provides a section for the signature and contact information of the individual completing the form.
If you have any questions, please contact us:
1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352) Calling from Florida
850-410-3800 Calling from outside of Florida
Terry Rhodes Building
2005 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
Map to the office