Chapter 507, Florida Statutes requires any person engaged in intrastate moving to register annually with the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Consumer Services. This includes any person who transports or ships household goods for compensation that originates and terminates within the State of Florida. Registration with the Department is required if you are an intrastate mover, regardless of any other local, municipal or county licensing requirements. However, you should note state registration does not exempt you from obtaining a local, municipal or county license. Failure to comply with this law may subject you to a cease and desist order and fines of up to $5,000.
Due to changes in the 2011 legislative session, intrastate movers and moving brokers will now register with the division biennially (every 2 years). The registration fee remains at $300 per year for each mover or moving broker. At the time of application or renewal, a $600 fee will be due for the two year registration.
Household Moving Services - New Registration Package
This form is for new business registration only.
Household Moving Services - Renewals
Renewal by Mail - If you need to renew your registration and have not received an application by mail, please contact us at 1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352) calling from within Florida, or 850-410-3800, calling from outside of Florida. You can also contact us via email.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who has to register?
Any person who intends to open or operate as an intrastate mover of household goods or moving broker shall, prior to engaging in such activity, register with the Department.
What documents are required to register?
Proof of insurance such as your insurance certificate and certificate holder and/or original surety in the amount of $25,000 bond. A copy of your policy, declarations page or insurance card will not be accepted. Coverage must include:
Cargo liability for loss or damage to household goods - not less than $10,000 per shipment.
Motor vehicle coverage, including bodily injury and property damage liability in minimum amounts of (auto liability is required even if you don't own your own truck(s)):
- $50,000 per occurrence for commercial vehicle gross weight of less than 35,000 pounds.
- $100,000 per occurrence for commercial vehicle gross weight of more than 35,000 pounds, but less than 44,000 pounds $300,000 per occurrence for commercial vehicle gross weight of 44,000 pounds or more.
Is the registration assignable?
No, a registration issued pursuant to this act is not assignable or transferable.
Are there any additional requirements?
Yes, required insurance coverage must be current and maintained throughout the registration period. Insurance and surety must be issued by a company authorized to transact business in this state, the Department shall be named as a certificate holder and must be notified at least 10 days before any changes in insurance coverage. insurance coverage must be current and maintained throughout the registration period.
Each contract of a mover or broker must include the phase "(NAME OF FIRM) is registered with the State of Florida as a Mover or Moving Broker. Registration No. ______."
Each advertisement of a mover or broker must include the phase "Fla. Mover Reg. No. _____" or "Fla. IM No. ____"
Each of the mover's vehicles must display a sign on the driver's side door which includes at least one of these phrases in lettering of at least 1.5 inches in height.
If you have any questions, please contact us:
1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352) Calling from Florida
850-410-3800 Calling from outside of Florida
Terry Rhodes Building
2005 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
Map to the office
Florida Movers and Warehousemen's Association (FMWA)
FMWA was founded in 1979. Over the years, FMWA has grown to become the voice for the industry before state lawmakers. Most recently, the association worked with legislators to pass groundbreaking legislation to rid our industry of extortionists and thieves who give our profession a bad name.