Health Studios are required to register with the Department annually, and in some cases post a $50,000 surety bond, letter of credit or certificate of deposit. The purpose of this security is to reimburse members if the studio fails to meet its contractual obligations to its members. The law authorizes the department to collect registration fees; penalty fees are imposed on studios that do not register or post security.
- Certificate of Deposit SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- Escrow SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- Letter of Credit SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- Surety Bond SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- ss. 501.012-501.019, Florida Statutes (F.S.)
- Chapter 5J-4, Florida Administrative Code
On the FAC site, please select "latest version" to view the rules
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need to register with the department before I get an occupational license?
Yes, before a health studio opens its doors they have to properly register with our Department.
I am a personal trainer, do I need to register?
If you are in business for yourself and not an employee of a health studio, you need to register with our Department as a health studio.
Is a $50,000 security bond part of health studio registration?
Possibly, if a health studio collects fees more than 30 days in advance or has a third party collecting the fees, the owner of the health studio needs to be bonded for a period of 5 years.
Does a health studio membership contract have to be approved by the Department?
Yes, there are certain consumer protection clauses that have to be incorporated in the membership contract.
If ownership changes is the health studio certificate transferable to the new owner?
No, the new owner has to re-register with our Department. Our Department needs to be notified if any change of ownership has occurred.
If you have any questions, please contact us:
1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352) Calling from Florida
850-410-3800 Calling from outside of Florida
Terry Lee Rhodes Building
2005 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
Map to the office