The Dance Studio Act requires ballroom dance studios to register annually with the Department. Dance studios which require an advance payment in excess of $250 or which enter into installment contracts must also post a bond with the Department. The Department has the authority to collect registration fees and impose a penalty for non-compliance of the law.
- Certificate of Deposit SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- Letter of Credit SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- Surety Bond SAMPLE: PDF WORD
- s. 501.143, Florida Statutes (F.S.)
- Chapter 5J-8, Florida Administrative Code
On the FAC site, please select "latest version" to view the rules
Frequently Asked Questions
Who has to register?
Any person who intends to open or operate as a ballroom dance studio shall, prior to engaging in such activity, register with the Department. (F.S. 501.143)
What is considered "ballroom dance"?
It includes, but is not limited to, one or more of the following dances: Bolero, Cha Cha, Foxtrot, Mambo, Merenque, Paso Doble, Polka, Quickstep, Rumba, Swing, Viennese Waltz and Waltz.
Is there a security requirement and if so, what are the requirements?
Yes, each ballroom dance studio that has been in business for less than 3 years and that requires or receives an advance payment from any customer in excess of $250 or enters into retail installment contracts for payment by any customer for dance services or lessons in installments shall establish a mechanism for ensuring customer refunds. (F.S. 501.143(5))
How can I meet the security requirement?
A fully executed security document must be an original and maintained on file with the Department. There are three forms of security that can be provided. They are:
- Surety Bond purchased from an Insurance Company
- Letter of Credit from a Bank
- Notice of Assignment secured by a Certificate of Deposit
What is the required principal amount of a security?
If the ballroom dance studio has been in business under the same ownership (as registered with the Department) for:
less than 1 year, the principal amount of the security shall be $5,000;
at least 1 year, but less than 2 years, the principal amount of the security shall be $10,000; or
at least 2 years, but less than 3 years, the principal amount of the security shall be $15,000. (F.S. 501.143(5))
Will registering affect my getting a city or county occupational license?
Yes, any person applying for or renewing a local occupational license to engage in business as a ballroom dance studio must exhibit an active registration certificate from the department before the local occupational license may be issued or renewed under Chapter 205, F.S.
If you have any questions, please contact us:
1-800-HELP-FLA (435-7352) Calling from Florida
850-410-3800 Calling from outside of Florida
Terry Rhodes Building
2005 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
Map to the office