The Dance Studio Act requires ballroom dance studios to register annually with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Dance studios which require an advance payment in excess of $250 or which enter into installment contracts must also post security. The department has the authority to collect registration fees and impose a penalty for non-compliance of the law.
Any person who intends to open or operate as a ballroom dance studio shall, prior to engaging in such activity, register with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Classification of ballroom dance includes, but is not limited to, one or more of the following dances: Bolero, Cha Cha, Foxtrot, Mambo, Merenque, Paso Doble, Polka, Quickstep, Rumba, Swing, Viennese Waltz and Waltz.
The bonding requirement for a dance studio is as follows: each ballroom dance studio that has been in business for less than 3 years and that requires or receives an advanced payment from any customer in excess of $250 or enters into retail installment contracts for payment by any customer for dance services or lessons in installments shall establish a mechanism for ensuring customer refunds.
There are three ways you can meet the requirement. They are:
- Notice of Assignment secured by a Certificate of Deposit
- Surety Bond purchased from an Insurance Company
- Letter of Credit from a Bank
Any person applying for, or renewing a local business tax certificate, to engage in business as a ballroom dance studio, must exhibit an active registration certificate from the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services before the local business tax certificate may be issued or renewed under the Florida Statutes, Chapter 205.
- Chapter 501.143, Florida Statutes (F.S.)
- Chapter 5J-8, Florida Administrative Code
On the FAC site, please select "latest version" to view the rules
Do you have more questions about dance studios? Contact us via email.